2nd Draft Writer’s Block & the Chair-Karma

Hello everyone,

It’s been a while…

I’m now back in Geneva, Switzerland and after the first few traumatising days handling jet lag and moving in with my French Frie (After moving so many times I kind of got allergic to it) we are now settled in my very old apartment that I had first rented when arriving in Geneva in 2007 and when I could still afford to live in it alone. Ever since I left the corporate world and became self-employed this was no longer an option and so it has been sub-letted for many years. Until now. 🙂

I also started with work much sooner than originally planned as I had too many clients waiting for treatments and Reiki courses coming up. Which is great – I love being back at work. If only this one thing didn’t happen:

The 1st day I came back to work, I opened the door to my room and nearly had a heart attack. My beautifully furnished and decorated room included 2 more monstrous, big and white armchairs. The sort of furniture you would see piled up on the street to be picked up.

To me they look like this:

I rent a space that I normally share with another great therapist. We have group workshops in there and 1 on 1 sessions. The manager of the center failed to communicate with me that upon my return a new person would start there and has already brought in his own stuff and cluttering the room to such an extent that I can no longer hold any bigger group workshops in there.

After one week of email discussions and phone conversations, guess what: the chairs are still there!!! Which made me believe I suffer from a serious and rare case of Chair-Karma:

Chair-Karma (n): the inability to enter a room without being hit by the ugliest chairs ever and not being able to get rid of them.

Anyway, needless to say that with the jet lag, the moving, the huge amount of work and workshops, I have been very busy and never seem to find the time to rewrite/polish up my 1st draft. Somehow I feel completely blocked now. It’s like a 2nd draft writer’s block. Anyone else suffered from that?

I don’t even know what to improve, where to start, what to change. I just know it needs lots of improvement and maybe that’s what is blocking me.

And then I received a link to some writing tips from Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) and that made my day. She inspires me so much and I decided to follow her tips and keep kicking my ass and keep doing the work. Here is the link if you would like some inspiration too.

Lots of love from Geneva,

The unmotivated Chair-Karma collecting Fairy

 

Leave a Reply

