Sophrosyne vs Hubris

Image

the greek Goddess Sophrosyne

photo credit

Good morning all 🙂

I got up at 5:30 am (unbelievable, I know!) and finished all of my character sheets. My writing software lets me organise them nicely with pics etc. I use istockphoto.com to search for images to get inspiration for my characters.

I almost got carried away, visualising my characters and a few of the scenes. Suddenly the evil characters are becoming more and more evil and the good ones striving to become sophrosyne. I came across this word by coincidence as a page I like on Facebook (Enlightened Consciousness) posted a quote:

Sophrosyne: (n) a healthy state of mind, characterised by self-control, moderation, and a deep knowledge of one’s true self, resulting in true happiness.

My little Wellness Business is all about Happiness, given the name is Be Happy Now, and also in my book the main characters are striving towards that deep knowledge of their true self, connecting to their individual gifts, which ultimately will lead them on a big journey of self-discovery, maybe resulting in happiness. Let’s see if every character gets his/her happy ending. 🙂

As I researched more about Sophrosyne on Wikipedia I found out that she was a greek Goddess and considered to be one of the good spirits that escaped from Pandora’s box. I also found out that the opposite term would be Hubris, which Wikipedia explains is:

Hubris /ˈhjuːbrɪs/, also hybris, from ancient Greek ὕβρις, means extreme pride or arrogance. Hubris often indicates a loss of contact with reality and an overestimation of one’s own competence, accomplishments or capabilities, especially when the person exhibiting it is in a position of power. The adjectival form of the noun hubris is “hubristic”.

What I found interesting was to read that a few of the most evil characters and persons we know were described as “hubris” in modern literature, such as Lucifer in “Paradise Lost” by John Milton, Victor in “Frankenstein”, and even Adolf Hitler in Ian Kershaw’s biography.

So, these 2 words inspired me for my novel. How and when it will pop up, what this will mean for my characters etc, I don’t know yet, since I haven’t gotten to the stage where we have to work on the plot yet. 😉

What I find amazing is that ever since I had the idea to write a book about “special kids” everything started to fall into place like a puzzle. Kids popped up with whom I have been working for many weeks now and who inspired me immensely. The right quotes to motivate me pop up, the right words here and there, the right conditions for writing just around the corner when I move to Thailand for a few months to escape the cold European winter.

Synchronicity at it’s best and I love it!

Also, I wanted to share with you one of the exercises we were supposed to do from the “book in a month” book. The exercise was to visualise yourself as an old person in your deathbed with the regret of not having ever written that book you so wanted to write. I assume this was to further motivate people to really write and keep writing. For me however, strangely enough I could not visualise myself dieing with this regret. What I could visualise very clearly, though, was me as a wise, elderly lady, smiling, because I’m in my bed and I’m surrounded by the many books that I wrote. I can see them next to me in my bed, on the shelves in my room and I can see my working space, ie laptop and papers etc so I assume I have been working on my writing until my very last days on earth. 🙂

As you know by now this book is all about the Law of Attraction and manifesting my book getting published so having this visual of me as an old happy lady helps me to believe it will get published. 🙂

Nearly 10 am, I will have a little break and maybe start with “Day 2” of my exercises. It all takes much more time than expected, so I hope I can finish my outline by January 25th, which is my deadline for this part!

Have a happy Sunday everyone!

Leave a Reply

